He is Allah, the Creator, the Originator, The Fashioner, to Him belong the most beautiful names: whatever is in the heavens and on earth, do declare His praises and glory. And He is the Exalted in Might, The Wise.

[Quran 59:24]
Latest Updates :


       5 Pillars of Islam

The Application of Faith

Islam means Submission and obedience (to Allah), Humility, submissiveness and conformance (to the Laws of Allah), Safety, security, immunity or freedom from evil, Peace. Islam is a way of life whereby one takes upon oneself what Allah Has ordained and His Messenger practically demonstrated and conveyed to the mankind. It entails total submission and obedience to Allah that leads one to peace, and safety, security, immunity and freedom from evils and afflictions of any kind form within or without.
The framework of the Muslim life: faith, prayer, concern for the needy, self-purification, and the pilgrimage to Makkah for those who are able.

Islam is built on five pillars, the first of which is a state of faith, the other four are major exercises of faith of which some are daily, some weekly, some monthly, some annually and some are required as a minimum once in a lifetime.

Shahada is the Muslim profession of the faith.

This is genuine belief which includes all the articles of faith. The witnessing of the Oneness of Allah (SWT) is the rejection of any form of deity other than Allah (SWT), and the witnessing that Mohammed is His Messenger is the acceptance of him being chosen by Allah (SWT) to convey His message of Islam to all humanity and to deliver it from the darkness of ignorance into the light of belief in, and knowledge of, the Creator. 

The statement of Shahada in arabic is: 
Ashhadu Alla Ilaha Illa Allah (SWT) Wa Ashhadu Anna Mohammed Rasulu Allah (SWT) 

An English translation would be: 
I bear witness that there is no god but Allah (SWT) and I bear witness that Mohammed is His Messenger


Salat (Praying) to the Creator on a daily basis is the best way to cultivate in a man a sound personality and to actualize his aspiration. Allah (SWT) does not need man's prayer because He is free of all needs. Prayer is for our immeasurable benefit, and the blessings are beyond imagination.

In prayer, every muscle of the body joins the soul and the mind in the worship and glorification of Allah (SWT). Prayer is an act of worship (Ibadah). It is a matchless and unprecedented formula of intellectual meditation and spiritual devotion, of moral elevation and physical exercise, all combined.

Offering of prayers is obligatory upon every Muslim male and female who is sane, mature and in the case of women free from menstruation and confinement due to child birth.

Obligatory prayers: Five daily prayers, the Friday's (Juma) noon congregation prayer, the funeral (Janazah) prayer.

Times of obligatory prayers:

Fajr : Fajr - Early morning: After dawn and before sunrise.

Zohar : Zohar - Noon: After the sun begins to decline from its zenith until it is about midway on its course to set.

Asr : Asr - Mid-afternoon: After the expiration of the noon prayer time until sunset.

Magreb : Magreb - Sunset: Immediately after sunset until the red glow in the western horizon disappears.

Isha : Isha - Evening: After the expiration of the sunset prayer until dawn.


Sawm or Fasting is abstaining completely from eating, drinking, intimate sexual contacts and smoking from the break of dawn till sunset. It is a matchless Islamic institution which teaches man the principle of sincere love to Allah (SWT). Fasting teaches man a creative sense of hope, devotion, patience, unselfishness, moderation, willpower, wise saving, sound budgeting, mature adaptability, healthy survival, discipline, spirit of social belonging, unity and brotherhood.

Obligatory fasting is done once a year for the period of the month of Ramadan; the ninth month of the Islamic year. Voluntary fasting can be done any time of the year except on the 2 Idds (Feast Days) and it is highly recommended six days after Ramadan following Idd Ul Adha. Fasting during the month of Ramadan is an act of worship (Ibdah) which is obligatory on every adult Muslim, male or female if he/she is mentally and physically fit and not on a journey. Exceptions: women during their period of menstruation and while nursing their child, and also in case of travel and sickness for both men and women.


Zakat (or Zakah). Obligatory charity giving is an act of worship and spiritual investment. The literal meaning of zakat is purity and it refers to the annual amount in kind or coin which a Muslim with means must distribute among the rightful beneficiaries.

Zakat has a deep humanitarian and social-political value; for example, it frees society from class welfare, from ill feelings and distrust and from corruption. Although Islam does not hinder private enterprise or condemn private possession, it does not tolerate selfish and greedy capitalism. Islam adopts a moderate but positive and effective course between individual and society, between the citizen and the state, between capitalism and socialism, between materialism and spiritualism.

Zakat is paid on the net balance after paying personal expenses, family expenses, due credits, taxes, etc. Every Muslim male or female who at the end of the year is in possession in cash or articles of trade, must give zakat at the minimum rate of 2.5%. Taxes paid to government do not substitute for this religious duty.

The recipients of zakat are: the poor, the needy, the new Muslim converts, the Muslim prisoners of war (to liberate them), Muslims in debt, employees appointed to collect zakat, Muslims in service of research or study or propagation of Islam, and wayfarers who are foreigners in need of help.

Zakat is obligatory, however a Muslim can contribute more voluntarily, in which case it is charity (sadaqa).

HAJJ :  

Hajj is a pilgrimage to Makkah, at least once in a lifetime and it is obligatory upon every Muslim male and female who is mentally, physically and financially fit. Peace is the dominant theme. Peace with Allah (SWT), with one's soul, with one another, with all living creatures. To disturb the peace of anyone or any creature in any shape or form is strictly prohibited.

ZMuslims from all walks of life, from every corner of the globe assemble in Makkah in response to the call of Allah (SWT). There is no royalty, but there is loyalty of all to Allah (SWT), the Creator. It is to commemorate the Divine rituals observed by the Prophet Abraham and his son Ishmael, who were the first pilgrims to the house of Allah (SWT) on earth: the Ka'bah. It is also to remember the great assembly of the Day of Judgement when people will stand equal before Allah (SWT).

  Visitor # 1564
Holy Prophet() said “The Best amongst you is the one, who learns Quran and teaches it.”
NO © Copyright 2011 - 2014 | PAK QURAN TUITION - Share As Much As You Can ! JAZAKALLAH.
Design By